Intramuros, Manila—Authors from ST PAULS, once again, reaped awards during the Catholic Mass Media Awards’  13th Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards (CSCBA) held in the walled City of Manila on August 28, 2013.

Fr. James Kroeger, MM author of A Vatican II Journey: Fifty Milestones (Theology Category), Fr. Jose Maria De Nazareno of Sick Situations and Pastoral Heart: Selected Symptoms of the Pathology of Religion and Some Prescriptions (Ministry Category) and Mr. Rodolfo Ibaňez of A Love that Never Says Goodbye (Family Life Category) were hailed winners.

It was a victorious afternoon for ST PAULS because four other entries were judged finalists in their respective categories: The Impatient Grasshopper, a storybook written by the publishing’s youngest author Mary Concepcion Matias and Rita Avila’s Si Erik Tutpik at Si Ana Taba for Youth and Children Category; Fr. Fernando Guillen’s Following the Footsteps of St. Paul for Theology Category, and Fr. Allan Fenix’s A Few Minutes with Father for Ministry Category. 

His Most Rev. Archbishop Luis Antonio Tagle, DD of the Archdiocese of Manila graced the occasion. The good archbishop, in his short address, highlighted the significance which social communication plays in the country's current political situation. In addition, he emphasized the greater need to utilize social media as instruments in promoting Gospel values so that people will become more faithful, dignified, nature-loving and patriotic individuals. The awarding ceremony also served as the CMMA organizers’ way of thanking those who accepted the challenge as judges for this year’s CMMA entries.

Cardinal Sin Catholic Book Awards is organized by the Asian Catholic Communication Incorporated (ACCI) in collaboration with the organizers of Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA). The organizers aim to acknowledge annually authors whose books foster Catholic values in CSCBA’s six categories namely, Liturgy, Family Life, Ministry, Youth and Children, Spirituality and Theology.